Middlesex Under-18s Training

Under-18s Prepare for Hertfordshire Trip

by Jim Taylor
Under-18 representative side preparing for final South East Counties Youth Championship group match.

The Middlesex FA Under-18 team will play its third and final group match in this season’s South East Counties Youth Championship on Sunday 17 March (3.00pm KO).

We will be visiting the County Ground, Letchworth to meet Hertfordshire FA in Group B of the competition, having previously lost to Essex (2-3) and beaten the Amateur Football Alliance (3-2). Both of these games were played at our home base of Rectory Park.

The only other game played in our group so far, saw Hertfordshire beat Essex (1-0) at home. Therefore, at the moment, any of the four competing teams could top the group and progress to the final. The current standings are:-

  W D L GF GA Pts GD
Hertfordshire 1 0 +1 
Essex 2 1 0 1 3 3 3 0
Middlesex 2 1 0 1 5 5 3 0
Amateur Football Alliance 1 0 0 1 2 3 0 -1

It will be seen that our match against Hertfordshire and the Essex v Amateur Football Alliance game, which is also due to take place on 17 March, are both very important. Hertfordshire, as the only undefeated team of the four, are currently in the driving seat. We must try to change that situation.   

However, it is certain that, whatever the outcome of the two matches on 17 March, the group winner will not be finally decided until the last match, at Colney Heath on 14 April, between the Amateur Football Alliance and Hertfordshire.

Group A has been completed and as a result, the winners of our group will play Kent in the final. Kent achieved an impressive 100% record, beating London (2-0) and Jersey (4-0) at home and Sussex (5-2) in Lancing. Jersey finished second, on six points, after recording impressive away victories over Sussex (4-1) and London (8-2). Sussex finished on three points as a result of beating bottom placed London away (6-1).

Manager John Fletcher has selected the following squad:-

Caolan Doyle (Northwood FC)  
Babjide Shittu (Hanwell Town FC)
Miles Dumba (Wealdstone FC)
Femi Azeez (Wealdstone FC)
Mason Tunbridge (Enfield Town FC                                                                                             
Michael O’Neill (Hayes & Yeading United FC)                                                            
Jonti Purdon (Wingate & Finchley FC)                                                                     
Ricardo Matos (Wingate & Finchley FC)                                                                    
Ruben Carvalho (Wingate & Finchley FC)                                                                   
Radu Stefanoaica (Uxbridge FC)                                                                                  
Jamie Fulton (Northwood FC)                                                                                      
Sukru Yildiz (Potters Bar Town FC)                                                                             
Efraim Difuamna-Hyingi (Hanwell Town FC)                                                             

Oliver Lawford (Northwood FC)                                                                             
Marco Afonso (Hanwell Town FC) 
Lewis White (Harefield United FC)
The following players have been placed on standby:-
Jacob Adeyemi (Wingate & Finchley)
Simeon Olarein (Wingate & Finchley)
Felix Amoah (Hendon FC)                                                                                            
Loic Evangoepossi (Potters Bar Town FC)                                                             
Reece Mallett (Harefield United FC)                                                                       
Kyran Worrell (Northwood FC)                                                                                    
Joe Ringer (Wealdstone FC)                                                                                      
Isaac Ogundere (Hayes & Yeading United FC)                                                        
Josh Penemo (Hayes & Yeading United FC)                                                        
Patrick Connolly (Hendon FC)                                                                                   
Luke Massingham (Wealdstone FC)                                                                       
Oliver Regan (Potters Bar Town FC)                                                                          
Eisa Ezab (Hendon FC)                                                                                                
Liam Bakry (North Greenford United FC)

The coach will be leaving Uxbridge FC at 11.30am, Hillingdon Underground Station at 11.45am and Harrow on the Hill Underground Station at 12.15pm.

The address of the venue is:
The County Ground,

Related News

View All