Under 13 Trophy match photo


Jim Taylor

The final of the Middlesex FA Richard Stiles Under 13 Trophy was played on Sunday, 19th May at Rectory Park. This competition was introduced to provide an extra level, with an increased chance of success, for the boys’ teams of Middlesex affiliated clubs, playing in the lower divisions of their leagues. This is the third season that this final has been held. Although the competition commenced in season 2020-21, only one round could be played that season, before the arrival of the covid pandemic.

This season’s final was between Sandgate Youth, who play in the Surrey Youth League and who had won this season’s Conference Division by a margin of 10 points and Limitless Football Club, who play in the Premier Division of the North London Youth League.

The holders of this trophy were Broadwater United, who beat Northwood Youth White 4-3 in a very entertaining final, in which both teams were ahead twice.

40 teams entered this season’s competition.

Both teams drew a bye in round 1 of this season’s competition and then progressed to the final in an impressive manner.

Sandgate Youth beat Twickenham Tigers Oranges 3-0 away in round 2, London Eagles Youth Red 16-0 at home in round 3, Bessingby Park Rangers Red 8-0 away in the quarter-final and Southall Athletic Red 2-0 away in the semi-final.

Limitless Football Club were drawn away in all of their subsequent matches. They beat Haynes Harriers Warriors 9-0 in round 2, Pinnstars Red  6-1 in round 3, Norsemen Youth Red 11-0 in the quarter-final and Kefa FC CYFL 5-2 in the semi-final. 

Matches in this competition are played over 35 minutes in each half.

After a goalless first half, the fortunes in this exciting final fluctuated considerably. Limitless went 2-0 ahead early in the second half but Sandgate hit back to level the scores and take the game to a penalty shoot-out. Both of the first penalty takers were unsuccessful and then all of the next 7 kickers scored. Then the Sandgate goalkeeper saved the last of the ten allotted first ten kicks, to win the game for his side.  

The teams spent much of the first half sizing each other up.   

Pavryan Billing’s freekick into the Limitless box was cleared.

Sandgate’s keeper, Peter De Silva pushed Joshua Nkosi’s cross shot away.

Sandgate’s Krish Gill was tripped just outside the Limitless box. Jude Kenny took the freekick and Gideon Karbutey deflected his shot for a corner.

Sandgate’s Kai Riley made a saving tackle on Gabriel Alexandru-Dudu, who had burst through the middle.

Then Peter De Silva saved low down from Gabriel.

Kai Riley fastened onto a loose ball and tested Limitless custodian, Remy Mulraine.

A Sandgate move finished with Jayden Codrington’s shot being blocked. Then Krish Gill’s shot was saved at close range by Remy.

Krish Gill (9) shoots...

... and Remy Mulraine saves

Half-time score: Sandgate Youth 0 Limitless Football Club 0

Ziane Imansouren was tripped in the Sandgate box, in the 4th minute of the half. Gabriel Alexandru-Dudu converted the penalty.

Gabriel Alexandru-Dudu puts Limitless ahead from the penalty spot

Jayden Codrington cleared the Limitless bar with a freekick.

Ibrahim Ercen’s long shot for Limitless was narrowly wide.

Limitless’ Kwabena Asumadu made a run up the left wing, cut in and let fly with a shot, which Peter De Silva turned for a corner.

Limitless doubled their lead in the 14th minute of the half. Gabriel’s long freekick found Rico Mulraine, whose header was fumbled by the goalkeeper, allowing Kwabena to head home.

Peter De Silva fumbles Rio Mulraine's header...

... and Kwabena Asumadu heads Limitless into a two goal lead

Pavryan Billing pulled a goal back for Sandgate, in the 18th minute of the half, by converting a penalty awarded for a trip on himself. Gabriel Alexandru-Dudu was dismissed for abusing the referee following this incident.

Pavryan Billing reduces Sandgate's deficit from the penalty spot

Then Youcef Ziane’s shot hit the Limitless crossbar.

Kwabena Asumadu intercepted a Sandgate pass and advanced on goal but Peter De Silva palmed his shot away.

With 10 minutes of normal time remaining, Pavryan levelled the scores with a low drive.

Pavryan (4) levels the scores

Both sides had further scoring chances. Kwabena cut in and delivered a shot which produced a corner. Then Remy Mulraine saved at Krish Gill’s feet.

Full-time score: Sandgate Youth 2 Limitless Football Club 2

Sandgate went first in the penalty shoot-out.

Jude Kenny hit his kick over the crossbar.

Then, Limitless’ Gideon Karbutey struck the post with his shot.

Gideon Kabutey hits the post with his penalty

The next 7 penalty takers were all successful, namely Pavryan Billing, Kai Riley, Youcef Ziane and Krish Gill of Sandgate and Ramel Gordon, Luis Kounnis and Stefan Kounnis of Limitless.

Peter De Silva won the trophy for Sandgate by pushing the 10th kick, taken by Kwabena Asumadu up onto his crossbar.

Peter De Silva pushes Kwabena Asumadu's penalty shot onto the bar...

... and he celebrates

Penalty shoot-out score: Sandgate Youth 4 Limitless Football Club 3

The winners with the cup

The referee, Lewis Rescorla had a very good match. He received solid support from his team.

Middlesex FA Councillor Mark Sennett was the Guest of Honour. Mark was introduced to the teams and match officials before the kick off and presented the Trophy and individual mementoes after the match. Mark chose Ziane Imansouren of Limitless Football Club as Player of the Match.


Sandgate Youth: Peter De Silva, Jude Kenny (captain), Pavryan Billing, Zikria Nawabi, Nathan Bryan, Daniel Issa, Kai Riley, Jad Khalil, Krish Gill, Jayden Codrington and Youcef Ziane. 

Rolling substitutes: Marley Edwards, Salaar Nawabi, Hassana Keita, Angad Gill and Mustapha Gary.

Manager: Sean Kenny   

Coach: Billy Singh Billing   

Physio: Suleiman Nawabi.

Limitless Football Club: Remy Mulraine, Brandon Wotton, Ramel Gordon, Gabriel Alexandru-Dudu, Halil Meydan, Gideon Kabutey, Stefan Kounnis, Ziane Imansouren, Kwabena Asumadu, Joshua Nkosi and Ibrahim Ercen.

Rolling substitutes: Nico Oguh, Alex Baalbaki, Luis Kounnis, Baris Aytekin and Rico Mulraine.

Manager: Tez D’ogullari   

Coaches: Fabz Solomon, Luke Stirling and Bradley Wotton.

Referee: Lewis Rescorla   

Assistant Referees: Zaky Ellis and Charlie Martini   

Fourth Official: Franky Wheeler.

Attendance: 179.

Report: Jim Taylor

Photography: Chris Benn