The match officials and team captains


Jim Taylor

The Final of the Middlesex Junior Cup between Springfield FC and Kulture Klub Athletic was played on Saturday last, 19th June, at Middlesex FA’s Rectory Park HQ.   Springfield also reached the final of this competition last season but could not play the match, which would have been against Rayners Lane Reserves, because of the Covid restrictions.  

Springfield reached this season’s final with victories over The Wilberforce Wanderers (1-0), Indian Gymkhana Reserves (4-0), Southall Athletic (7-1) and Hayes & Hillingdon (on penalties after a 2-2 draw).   They were drawn at home in every round. Kulture Klub beat Harrow Bhoys (2-1 away), AFC Hanwell & Hayes (4-3 home), Wealdstone Youth Stones (3-1 away) and Hillingdon Abbots (3-2 away).

This very entertaining final started at a terrific pace and didn’t appear to slacken throughout the entire 90 minutes.

Springfield went ahead in the 10th minute, when Kulture Klub defender, Joe Benitez unfortunately headed a long downfield kick into his own net.

Springfield's Daniel Horgan beats a defender and crosses...

After a further 10 minutes play, Springfield doubled that lead. Daniel Horgan made a run up the right wing, riding two lunges on his way. Daniel’s perfect cross was headed home by Jamie Somers.

...and Jamie Somers heads Springfield's second goal

Kulture Klub’s Ollie Modeste reduced the deficit in the 25th minute, with a long-range lob which keeper Roberto Beschizza, couldn’t hold onto.

Roberto then saved well low down from KK’s Jordan Jackson. Then a long free kick by Springfield’s Jamie Somers was well stopped by KK keeper Ervis Lleshvi.

Daniel Horgan nets Springfield's third goal just before half time

Daniel Horgan performed some ball juggling, before netting to restore Springfield’s two goal advantage in the 44th minute. Springfield seemed to be well in control of the match when the interval arrived.

Half time score: Springfield 3   Kulture Klub Athletic 1

A searching halftime analysis by the Kulture Klub’s management team had the desired effect and the balance of play changed dramatically in the second half.   KK dominated play and mounted a series of attacks. Ollie Modeste shot narrowly wide from 25 yards. Ricardo Sowe had a high shot saved, after being set up by Jordan Jackson. Ricardo’s cross was just too high for Ollie, who headed it over the bar. Tyler Morgan demonstrated some impressive footwork before releasing Ollie Modeste, whose close-range shot was parried by the goalkeeper.

KK began to show frustration at not scoring, which was demonstrated by Louie Dixon, who earned himself 10 minutes in the “sin bin” for some dissenting words to the referee. This setback slowed KK a little but they regained the initiative and David Sarpong and Jordan Gayle both tested Springfield keeper, Roberto Beschizza.

Springfield concede a penalty in the 80th minute...

The vital break-through for Kulture Klub came in the 80th minute. Ollie Modeste burst into the Springfield penalty area and was felled by the combined challenge of Jason Maguire and Benedict O’Mahoney. Ollie converted the spot kick.

...which is converted by Ollie Modeste

Tyler Morgan netted the equaliser three minutes later, after being set up by Jordan Jackson. A further three minutes after this, an under-pressure Roberto Beschizza fumbled a cross from Tyler into his net for the winning goal.

Tyler Morgan equalises for Kulture Klub

Tyler Morgan's cross evades the keeper for Kulture Klub's winning goal

Referee Tom Simmons blew the final whistle after four minutes of stoppage time, amidst wild scenes of jubilation from the Kulture Klub players, management and supporters.

The occasion was spoilt, to some extent, by the behaviour of certain sections of the crowd, which will be the subject of an enquiry. 

Full time score: Springfield 3   Kulture Klub Athletic 4

Kulture Klub with the cup

The organising committee chose Ollie Modeste of Kulture Klub as Player of the Match.

Referee Tom Simmons controlled a potentially difficult game impeccably. He received very good support from his Assistant Referees, Andrew Tooley and Sachin Patel and Fourth Official, Andrew Smith.

The all-ticket attendance was 102, with a large additional following watching proceedings through the wire perimeter fence.


Roberto Beschizza, Jason Maguire, Daniel Horgan, Neil McNamara, Aiden Lynam, Daniel Fitzgerald, Jamie Somers, Benedict O’Mahony, Liam O’Brien (capt), Conor Roche and Thomas Waters.

Substitutes (rolling substitutions are used in this competition): Colm McSheffrey, Christopher Somers, Conor McBreen, Liam Holly and Aidan Harte.

Manager: Daniel Somers   Assistant Manager: Mark Peacock  


Ervis Lleshvi, Tyler Morgan, Mo Adubakar (capt), David Sarpong, Joe Benitez, Ross Henry, Theo Jones, Louie Dixon, Ollie Modeste, Eman Babaola and Jordan Jackson.

Substitutes: Liam Adams, Ricardo Sowe, Serge Erkarslan, Jordan Gayle and Dylan Kitteridge-LoBlack.

Manager: Theo Jones   Head Coach: Ollie Modeste   Coaches: Meisi Kruti, Richard Jones, Raph and Russ Modeste.

Our official photographer Chris Benn, as ever, has provided some fantastic imagery from the game. If using these photos please give credit.

Chris has selected 10 highlight images which can be found here.

Readers wishing to view the full gallery of images can find these here

Related Match Reports

View All