Grassroots Football Awards Banner

Grassroots Awards Winners Announced

Middlesex FA has selected 7 local recipients of The FA and McDonald’s Grassroots Football Awards 2018.


Middlesex FA has selected 7 local recipients of The FA and McDonald’s Grassroots Football Awards 2018.  

The Grassroots Football Awards, known previously as the Respect Awards, recognise and celebrate the work of individuals and groups to instill The FA’s PRIDE values – Progressive, Respectful, Inclusive, Determination and Excellent – and make a positive difference in their club, league or local community.  

Following receipt of a record 2,904 nominations, The FA has worked alongside respective County FAs to select appropriate winners across 7 categories. The full list of Middlesex FA Grassroots Football Awards 2018 winners are:  

  • Coach of the year: Leah Ambridge, Bedfont Sports  
  • Community project of the year: Hendon FC Mental Health Project
  • Charter Standard club of the year: Whitton Wanderers Youth FC
  • Grounds team of the year: David Grundy, Pitshanger FC
  • Match Official of the year: Garrett Eeles, Harrow Youth League
  • Volunteer of the year: Angie Cannon, Ickenham Youth
  • Youth volunteer of the year: Fatima Hussein, Capital City Academy  

Greg Clarke, Chairman of The FA, said: "It’s been fantastic to see a record number of nominations for this year’s Grassroots Football Awards and hear so many stories of dedication and commitment throughout the grassroots game.  

"The selection of winners chosen alongside Middlesex FA represents the diverse nature of football in this country and I would like to congratulate each and every one for their inspirational work."  

Leigh O’Connor Chief Executive of Middlesex FA, said: “We had a fantastic range of nominees, and firstly a massive well done to all of them. Our winners have shown a commitment to grassroots sport throughout the year and beyond that which makes a huge difference to the Middlesex football community.  I would personally like to thank them for all their hard work.”   

On 9 July, The FA’s National Panel will meet to select national winners from the pool of County FA recipients and they will be formally announced at the 2018 FA Community Shield on 5 August. 

To learn more about The FA and McDonald’s Grassroots Football Awards 2018, visit  

For further information, please contact: Lynsey Edwards, Head of Participation and Development or  07722142290